Does this look like CL?

_sonshine_

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I just got this goat and was told she was bit by a dog with no treatment so that is why her face looks the way it does. I'm still new to goats so the more that I read about them the more that I'm thinking that maybe this is not a dog bite??? I really dont know what CL looks like and I dont know of any goat vets.

Thanks for your help.

1429_sdc12287.jpg

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score
I think I would want more information as to when the dog bit her. Is she still full of infection? Is there another good goat breeder around you or is is possible to find a goat vet in your area? It is hard to say, at least for me, over the internet since it was mentioned that she was bit by a dog and not treated.

To me it looks like it is still infected and needs some sort of treatment. Hopefully someone else will be able to give you more information.

Emmetts Dairy

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Poor girl...shes pretty...How is her behavoir?? Is she eating etc??? I would call some vets..cuz even if they dont advertize as large animals vet..some maybe able to help...I hope shes not infected...like it was said...its so hard to say looking at a pic on the internet..??? To me shes looks like you snaped a pic while she was chewin a mouthful of cud...good luck..I hope shes ok..

dkluzier

Overrun with beasties
Reaction score
We had a girl looked like that, she had an infection, not CL. Vet thought it was probably from an injury or cut on barbwire. Ended up getting it lanced by the vet, and he packed it with iodine. We gave her penicillin for 5 days. She didn't have a reoccurence and it healed very well.

_sonshine_

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score