Factual rabbit questions about jumping, digging, etc

DianeS

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I'm new to owning rabbits, and I have some *really* basic questions to ask! I'm hoping some of you have answers to these...

How high can rabbits jump? (especially the larger breeds , like NZs and Californians)
And how far can they jump horizontally in a single bound?

How quickly do they dig? (For instance, could one tunnel out of an outdoor enclosure in an hour or would it take longer?)

When placed on grass, do they eat patches of it straight down to the ground, or mow across the tops of everything?

Is there a ratio of how much water a rabbit should drink when compared to how much the rabbit weighs? (I'm having trouble figuring out if my rabbits are drinking a LOT more than I think they should, or if they're just dumping the crocks. I haven't figured out how to mount them well yet.)

I'm sure I'll have more questions later. Thanks for trying to help me learn!

tortoise

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
DianeS said:
How high can rabbits jump? (especially the larger breeds , like NZs and Californians)
Rabbits can jump about 2 feet up and over something, but they can climb even higher. I have 2 foot and 4 foot pens. My grass-is-greener-on-the-other-side rabbits go in the 4' pens.

DianeS said:
And how far can they jump horizontally in a single bound?
They'll only do this if they are spooked or chasing each other, but they can jump horizontally up to 6 feet. I turn my cage rabbits out into t 2'x8' pen and yesterday one of my girls was NOT happy and went flying from one end to almost the other. :rolleyes:

DianeS said:
How quickly do they dig? (For instance, could one tunnel out of an outdoor enclosure in an hour or would it take longer?)
It would take longer. I've never had a rabbit dig more than a divot. You can keep them entertained by moving the pen to fresh grass or giving the boys a girl to chase.

DianeS said: