Goat Diet

Ember Kinsch

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Hello, I have a complete newbie question, I pretty much no nothing about what to feed my future goats. I do know that they will eat hay and grass, but other than that, I'm clueless! Can someone help me out on what diet I should be planning to feed them? Thanks in advance!

Ember Kinsch

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Probably going to get Newbians. Most likely around 4-5 weeks when we get them. 1 doe 1 buck. I don't know what wethers are yet...

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
At that age they will still be on the bottle and will remain so up to 12-16 weeks. Are they currently on the bottle at the breeders?
Wethers are castrated males.
You can introduce small amounts of dairy goat feed. Hay will need to be available 24/7. Loose Minerals should also be available 24/7.
Because they are kids you may want to consider a medicated feed to aid in coccidia prevention.

If buying a buck and a doeling together and they are brother/sister you will want to wether the buckling at 8 weeks.

The breeder you are purchasing them from should give you recommendation of feed and mineral.
You will also want to see if the breeder vaccinated the dam before kidding so you know what vaccination schedule you should use.

Within 7-10 of getting your kids you should have a fecal analysis done by your vet to check for internal parasites and coccidia.

Ember Kinsch

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
We don't even have a breeder picked out yet. We are going to get them in a little bit less than a year, so I'm just trying to figure out how to provide the best life for them. We are not planning on getting a brother and sister, mainly because we do want them to mate. What type of loose minerals? Is there any specific milk that they will need? Do I need to put some formula in the milk? How often would they have to be bottle fed? (sorry haven't done that much research on them yet.)

Southern by choice

Herd Master