• Yes....GREAT!!!

Votes: 10 100.0%
  • Nope

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

lkmartin1230

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Okay, so I'm trying to convince my mom it is okay to start milking our goats and drinking it and all her negativity towards it is making me question it. I don't want to get sick from it. We will be pastuerizing it because I don't like totally raw milk. I have been breeding Nigerian Dwarfs for quite a few years now and I have never even thought about milking them but wanted to start so I could make cheese and drink the milk instead of all that grocery store stuff. Can anybody tell me whether it would be okay to drink it or not?

Latestarter

Novice; "Practicing" Animal Husbandry
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
Humans have been drinking goat milk for thousands of years! I'd be surprised if you get a negative response here on BYH ;)

Edit to say: except for certain breeds/individual animals who have a very "goatie" tasting milk that some do NOT like.

frustratedearthmother

Herd Master
Reaction score
I think you might be surprised at how GOOD it actually is! Nigi milk is sweet and delicious! Good luck with convincing your mom!

lkmartin1230

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Thanks!! I have no doubt it will be good but she's afraid I'm going to get sick.

Hens and Roos

Herd Master
Reaction score
we have Nigerian Dwarfs, this will be our 2nd year milking- we pasteurize and drink it, plus make cheese and ice cream! Each doe's milk tastes differently, we tried each one separately before mixing all together.

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
First the flavor of the milk depends on feed type, hay, as well as breed. Nigerians usually have very creamy sweet milk.

Keep in mind if you like skim milk or 2% this may be way to rich and creamy for you.

Another factor in the flavor is how fast you chill the milk!

We also pasteurize!