Hi Everybody

bggrant2

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I am so grateful to be a part of this community. I am a new and beginning farmer located in Chenango Forks, NY. I currently have two elderly meat goats that I inherited from the former owners. I am interested in raising organic dairy cows (Guernsey or Jersey), organic dairy goats, organic sheep, organic chickens, and growing organic fruits and vegetables.

Right now, I am researching which dairy cow breeds work well in upstate New York. I am interested in A2/A2 genetics.

Ridgetop

Herd Master
Reaction score
Are you going organic for sales purposes or for your own eating? I ask because if you are planning to sell your meat, dairy, or produce as "Organic" you need to check your farm extension office to find out how to get that designation.

I like jersey cows, they are smaller but with lovely rich milk, high butterfat %, and such pretty faces. They also produce enough meat for home use. If you want just enough milk for household use, standard dairy goat breeds would fulfill that purpose and be smaller to house and handle. Bred to a Boer buck your standard dairy goats will produce a meat carcass. As to sheep are you going for fleeces to spin or sell? or for meat. There is a big difference in breeds for those two purposes. Growing fruit trees and veggies without pesticides means that you can feed all trimmings and leftover fruit to yiur livestock. I notice you don't want pigs - they are good to fatten on windfall fruit. If allowed to run in the orchard, they will also root out any pests that like to winter in the soil around the trees, hatching to eat your precious blossoms and fruit in the spring. They also are good for using up any spoiled or sour milk.

How large is your farm? How many members of your family will be working with you on it? Children make the best unpaid labor. LOL They enjoy the animals, not so much mucking out pens!

bggrant2

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score