How can I tell if my Saanen is PG or not??

landis1659

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I'm new to goats this year. I have a pair of Saanens that have been together most of the time since I got them. I seperated them in June because the female was only 6 mos. But in the middle of Aug. the male kept breaking through the fence and getting back in her pen. They are so cute together but I didn't want her getting PG too soon. I was told that 8 mos. would be ok. Any she was born the middle of Feb this last winter. So I worry that if she did get pregnant in Aug it might be too soon. We've done everything except an electric fence at this point to keep them apart now. I left them together from the middle of Aug-the middle Oct. When we were able to put up a different fence we separated them again, only this time because if she is PG I'm afraid he might hurt her and the baby. But she has managed to get another hole in the new fence now and got back in with him. Very frustrated now. She was acted so silly dancing around him, butting heads just having a good old time. I read that they usually breed in the fall Aug-Dec. How can I tell if she's PG or not? He can be mean when wants to be, like when it's time to eat, he won't let her get any of the food I put out for them. Also they both still have horns.
Thanks Pepper

New to goats and chickens this year

freemotion

Self Sufficient Queen
Reaction score
Chances are pretty high that she is preggers. Not much to do about it now, she is likely three months along or so. Start reading! Go to www.fiascofarm.com and read everything you find there, and make sure she has fantastic nutrition and good minerals.