How much protein for ewe?

BrightFarms

Just born
Reaction score
I have an Icelandic ewe in late pregnancy (should lamb between late March/mid-April) and have conflicting advice on how to feed her. The people we bought her from said not to feed her anything with a lot of protein in it, because the lambs will get too big and she'll have birthing problems.

But everywhere I read that late pregnancy it's important to provide enough protein for the ewe and her lambs. I know Icelandic's are suppose to do well without grain, but should I get a protein block for her?

Thanks for any advice, I'm new to sheep. We had a Nigerian Dwarf goat give birth last fall and she did fine (in fact she only took about five minutes to drop twins!), but we were giving her a couple handfuls of grain every day.

Thanks again!

greenmulberry

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Yes the advice for Icelandics is very confusing isn't it??? Everywhere you read about how they don't need grain and be careful to not overfeed, but then you don't want the ewe to go into ketosis either.

The woman I bought my icelandics from said her first year she nearly lost her first ewe because she only fed grass hay, based on the all the caution about overfeeding Icelandics, when the ewe went into ketosis before lambing.

I am feeding my bred Icelandics free choice grass hay, I couldn't get alfalfa (long story) so I am giving them some alfalfa pellets too, this works well as I am trying to tame them and I do it by handfeeding. I also have been giving them some black oil sunflower seeds (couple handfuls each) as treats. Those are really high protein.

I checked their body condition score (there are lots of charts online) and I woudl call them all a 2.5, so I think I am OK as far as not overfeeding. This is my first year so I am far from an expert.

norseofcourse

Herd Master
Reaction score