New to sheep.... what do I need to have ready for birthing babies?

Whispering Hope Farm

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
In October I bought a bred southdown baby doll sheep. She is supposed to have babies March 15. 1. How do I know if she is pregnant or not? 2. I purposely bought her because she was older - 2005- and has had no problems having babies every year BUT what do I need to have on hand to prepare for her to have babies? I have been trying to tame her up. She is just used to being a field sheep. She will come close and let me pet her when i have food. When it comes close to the time I was going to put her in the barn so I could watch her more. We are in NC so it doens't get really cold.

Thanks

secuono

Herd Master
Reaction score
How big is she and did you crutch her yet?
Here are mine, wide sheep! I'm not sure of their date, late February to March.
431641_333751829991665_100000705527207_1101264_1595400569_n.jpg

Can't help with the other Q's, I'm also new to them.

Whispering Hope Farm

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
yes you can see how the white sheep closest is fat in the tummy. I know with my 8 breeds of bunnies I can palpitate and feel the babies. I will have to look up crutching? don't know what that means. I just think that the babydolls are the cutest sheep ever and I can't wait to tame the baby up! I bet you are excited to have little lambs. I so hope mine is pregnant because I am beside myself wanting a little lamb!

secuono

Herd Master
Reaction score
You can see where the ewe's butts and stomachs were shaved. Usually they are shaved like in the picture below. You need to shave 5+ inches of the tummy wool around the teats, too.

29%20After%20crutching%20the%20sheep.jpg

SheepGirl

Master of Sheep
Golden Herd Member
Reaction score
1. How do I know if she is pregnant or not?