Nubians...Climately challenged?

bucklev

Just born
Reaction score
Like alot of people seem to be I am new to the goat world so yes I have to ask what goat would do well in my climate.I want a hardy animal but I really like the richer milk from a nubian....however seems like I have read several times they might not do as well in a harsh maine climat is this true or am I looking to deeply into this.If it is true what other dual purpose goat would likely do better and still have rich milk.Keep in mind Im not looking for a ton of production right now just milk for my family,cheese,and to feed to other animals ie pigs thanks in advanced for any info you guys and girls are so knowledgable I cant thank you enough for all the knowledge you hand down to us newbies.:D

ksalvagno

Alpaca Master
Reaction score
I don't know how much worse Maine's climate is to Ohio but they do just fine in our hard winters and even our muggy hot summers. I would think it would be more a matter of proper shelter from the elements than the elements themselves.

crazygoatlady

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I am in NW North Dakota--last winter we had -40 weather with 35 mph winds. Every 4 years or so, it is colder and in mid April this spring, we still had the horse next door walk over their fence, across the short tree row and right over the fence into our pasture.--that was mid April, thats how much snow we still had. My goats have a nice shelter with straw for bedding, good hay and we do feed grain in the winter to everyone here, milking does get 2-3 lbs of grain on the stand including BOSS and beet pulp. If I can get alfalfa, we feed alfalfa, if I have grass hay, I supplement with alfalfa pellets or cubes or a little of alfalfa. This year I will be getting mixed grass/alfafla and alfalfa. I have Nubians and Mini Nubians, and they do very well and milk like crazy!

bucklev

Just born
Reaction score