Recipes for Goat Grain/ Chicken Feed combo?

Pherbe85

Herd lurker
Reaction score
Anyone have a basic recipe or combo of goat/chicken friendly ingredients.

I HAAAATE buying premixed feed for separate animals in fear of one getting into the other. Knowing they both essentially can eat the same grains (with separate vitamin/mineral supplements) makes me wonder what secret I'm missing.. so does anyone have a combo that you give BOTH your goats and chickens?

My thoughts are some combo of Oats, Corn, BOSS, Barley. plus top dressing as needed for the goats. BUT WHAT COMBOS!! I am having such a hard time figuring it out. The chickens and turkeys free range. Goats will only get grain on the stand and get either awesome alfalfa or so so alfalfa/mix and chaffhaye.
I'm new to goats so I'm trying to figure it out. Seems like since it's an "addition" to producers finding a chicken feed ration that could just be slightly mended when they are producing could be so easy.

HELP!

Green Acres Farm

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Anyone have a basic recipe or combo of goat/chicken friendly ingredients.

I HAAAATE buying premixed feed for separate animals in fear of one getting into the other. Knowing they both essentially can eat the same grains (with separate vitamin/mineral supplements) makes me wonder what secret I'm missing.. so does anyone have a combo that you give BOTH your goats and chickens?

My thoughts are some combo of Oats, Corn, BOSS, Barley. plus top dressing as needed for the goats. BUT WHAT COMBOS!! I am having such a hard time figuring it out. The chickens and turkeys free range. Goats will only get grain on the stand and get either awesome alfalfa or so so alfalfa/mix and chaffhaye.
I'm new to goats so I'm trying to figure it out. Seems like since it's an "addition" to producers finding a chicken feed ration that could just be slightly mended when they are producing could be so easy.

HELP!