what breed to use

nstilwater

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
i am new to raising meat rabbits what breed would be best to use i live in pacific northwest so it is wet and windy alot

AZ Rabbits

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I would recommend any of the standard meat rabbits:
- New Zealand
- Californian
- American Blue or White
- Palominos
- Satins
- Champagne d'Argent

My personal favorite is the American Blues and NZW's.

Good luck!

Ms. Research

Herd Nerd On A Mission
Reaction score
My Rabbit Vet was very successful with New Zealands.

I on the other hand, want a smaller rabbit than New Zealands (need to stay small) so I'm looking at Florida Whites. They are really good smaller meat rabbits if you don't have the room for bigger.

Depends on what you want to do with your meat rabbits. Are they just for you, or do you plan to mass produce?

BTW, cute avatar AZ.

K

DKRabbitry

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I recommend any rabbit breed, or mix thereof, that is large enough to suit you and your needs and is available to you at an affordable price. I, personally, like trying out different mixes. Have a litter of NZW/Mini Satin mixes due this week :D

If you want to sell to people, I recommend sticking with a more popular breed with a white coat (NZW or Cali). I have noticed folks around here get stuck on something and that is what they want to buy. I can sell 1 show quality giant chin for twice as much as a meat quality NZ, but I will sell 3 times as many meat quality NZs as giant chinchillas even at the same price! Figure that one out... I just don't think folks know how great Giant Chins are... speaking of which, I NEED to get to work on that breed page!!!

For my table, I don't care about color or breed, so I just raise what is nice and has a good temperament with a good full loin & hindquarter. My purebreds are Champagne D'Argent & Giant Chin, but also have some mutts, NZs and a Mini Satin for the kids to play with.

nstilwater

Chillin' with the herd