what's the "average" price for does/doelings/bucks?

Vickir73

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I know there is going to be a lot of opinions on the pricing and a lot of it will depend on what type of breed/age (I'm going to assume we are only talking about registered animals); however, I'm looking for just an idea of how much I should expect to pay for an animal. I'm assuming a doeling is under a year old, a yearling is between 1-2 years, but never bred, and a doe is anything that has had kids and is in milk (or dry). A buck, I'm not sure of the age differences.

Since I'm just learning, is there a big price difference in "SQ" animals and have a history in the ring and animals that are registered but have no show history? i.e. if a breeder's wants $200 for a doeling that comes from a line that has had good results in the ring and another breeder wants $200 but has never shown any of their animals is this acceptable? I know a lot of it just depends what I want the animal for, but if I just want a great back yard milker should I be looking for a different price than if I wanted a great milker that was going to do good (hopefully) in the ring too? Is $200 a good price for a week old doe, but it should be more for a 6 month old doe? or is $200 a good price for a 6 month old?

I've been researching different breeder's website (and breeds to determine what I want to buy next) and here's the prices I've been seeing - doelings (around 3 months old) $200; does (in milk) $550; bucks $100-200.