goatbarn25

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I am new to mini alpines, and I have a few questions. Since Alpine's are seasonal breeders and Nigerian Dwarf's can be bred all year round, can my mini alpine doe be bred all year round, or just seasonally? Also, when is the earliest that you should breed a doeling? Is 10 months too early? My friend told me that they should be 75% of the breeds expected weight before you breed them, but I have no clue what a mini alpine does expected weight is! Does anyone know about mini alpine's that can help? Thanks:)

rachels.haven

Herd Master
Reaction score
Hi,

A subset of my herd are mini saanens. Does that count? Due to their mixed genetic package they should be closer to adult size and width when bred. Breeding their second fall/late summer is safest. That being said, I've bred at 75-80 pounds and been fine. That risk of getting a standard sized kid is still there but chances are you will be okay. Probably. Second go around is best.

In regards to them being seasonal breeders, I'd say yes they probably are, but there are off label things you can do to manipulate heats for the good of your does and new kids (and their parasite resilience), so seasonal is as seasonal does. The flip side is that you are far more likely to get a milker with persistence and the will to milk with minis than in the dwarf breed AND you get higher production then nd and higher butter fat than standards yet they are still easier keepers then so there's a good chance you wilo be able to keep them in milk outside of the milking season regardless of the fact they may only visibly go into heat in the breeding season for you of their own volition.

If you have a buck on site they will be able to tell you if your doe is cycling outside of season better than I can.