advice please - new does

Suburbanfarmer

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
We just brought our does home this weekend. We got Bella on Friday and Penelope on Sunday.
Bella is pregnant and due (probably, the lady we got her from is guessing) around this Wednesday. The problem is that she is not eating well. The lady we got her from was feeding her 3 C of dry cob 1 C alfalfa pellets morning and evening. Now she is hardly eating 1 C total. I'm worried about the baby/babies (she isn't very big).
She isn't drinking very much either. I dump and refill the water when I feed in the morning and evening. I also dump the old food and put in new food morning and evening.

Is this just her not having settled in yet?

Neither one is really eating, but Penelope is not pregnant and is a bit over weight anyway, so I'm not as concerned with her.

I have raised just about every other animal, but I am new to goats and these are our first ones.

Thanks for any help!
-Kristin

elevan

Critter Addict ♥
Reaction score
Welcome to BYH!

Are you feeding their same feed or have you made changes since bringing them home?

Bella may be getting ready to kid. Mine will often seem to eat less just before their time. Also when they are close to kidding they often look "less pregnant" because their kids have dropped into birthing positions.

Do you have hay available to them all the time? Loose minerals? Fresh water?

You should also consider a quarantine deworming . The stress of "moving" to a new place is often enough to bring about a worm bloom. Couple that with kidding and you've more than doubled your chances of a worm bloom. Just don't use Valbazen.

There's no need to dump the food unless it's getting wet or soiled. We provide alfalfa pellets free choice to our goats here (available all the time).

Suburbanfarmer

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
elevan said:
Welcome to BYH!

Are you feeding their same feed or have you made changes since bringing them home?