Doe bred yesterday - funny story/question

trcarlton

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I'm a complete newb with rabbits, I have a decent setup (4 hole hutch, single hutch, total of 5 rabbits - 2 does, 3 bucks to start), and will be raising some pet rabbits for sale. I bred my doe Ruby to my smaller buck Char yesterday. She seemed very accepting of him, laid out, tail up, hindquarters raised. They bred once, rested, then he approached her from the wrong side, climbed on her head, and after a few seconds she got fed up of him not changing position, darted out from under him, and then she mounted him, hip thrusts and all. I didn't know whether to laugh or be worried, so I did a little of both. Is this normal behavior, the doe showing the buck how it's supposed to be done, or is this an indication that she's a really dominant girl, or? Thanks!

CochinBrahmaLover=)

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
I know nothing bout rabbits, but i know that 99.9999999999999% when the GIRL mounts A) a girl or B) a boy, its a dominance thing. Males tend to do it to each other, and
females to each other, not too common that a female mounts a male :lol:

Best of luck, and sorry if this is incorrrect

trcarlton

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Thanks, CochinBrahmaLover:) - that's kind of what I was thinking too; I've worked with dogs a lot, and that's something they do a lot too. It just bemused me that she was doing that to him, and HE WAS LETTING HER! lol maybe he was too tired to resist? ;)

CochinBrahmaLover=)

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
Ya, heard stories of goats, sheep, etc. Ya our female does it al the time to our male ! (dogs)

He could just have been submissive?

trcarlton

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Good to have it confirmed, thank you manybirds :)

manybirds

Loving the herd life
Reaction score
trcarlton said:
Good to have it confirmed, thank you manybirds :)