Found an AWESOME barn plan

CESpeed

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Ok I've got a brilliant idea! I found a blueprint for the above ground barn and it has 4 -- 13 x 12 stalls (all of which can open into a barn yard) , a tack and feed room, and 10 ft roof extension on both sides to provide shade for barn yards. I was thinking if I start with 2 ewes and a ram (will 2 be enough to make him happy?) they can rotate through two sides and I can rotate the pigs on the other side!

Does this sound like a good idea and how much room should I allocate for barn yard? Would 1/4 acre per yard be sufficient for 3 sheep and lambs when they are born? Or will I still need another pasture for them? I found a movable shelter if I need to use another field But I'm really feeling the large barnyard.

Opinions -- PLEASE !!!! :D

Thank you

CESpeed

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
31 views and not one reply? :hit

Southern by choice

Herd Master
Reaction score
I'm new to sheep...and I mean I still know nothing, new. :/

I'm not sure but I think you may have to separate your ram from your ewes at some point, especially during lambing so that is something to consider. Rotational grazing is always a plus!

I guess the size of the yard provided will depend on how much supplemental feed you will be giving. What are you feeding now?

Hopefully someone with experience will chime in.

What kind of sheep?

CESpeed

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
I don't have the sheep yet, but I will getting Texels. The reason I'm considering having a ram is because the nearest Texel farm is two day's away. And I think that would be too far for an animal to travel for breeding.

I am considering having four additional outside paddocks with movable shelters but I'm hoping someong can tell me if my initial plan is a good one or not. And how much room I should have per paddock.