Guard donkeys killing lambs.

Bibiann

Just born
Reaction score
I am new to the sight and googled information regarding guard donkeys killing lambs and this sight came up. I felt it was very important to inform all the sheep lovers about the possability that your donkeys may not work out as well as you thought.
We started our Kahtadin sheep venture last spring buying 10 ewes varying from 4 years to 1 year old. We put a registered ram over them in late October and we started lambing two weeks ago.
We purchased a 2 year old Mammoth donkey to serve as our guard donkey. Her name is Coco and she is a very friendly and gorgeous donkey. Little to our knowledge Coco was pregnant and had a fowl in late July (2010).
When we started lambing the 13th of March we started out great as had twins. The next day one was left, the other disapearted result of coyotes. The saved lamb ended up having to be bottle fed as mothers utter dried up. Yes - you might be thinking did you put it with other new born lambs and mother. Yes we did, thats another story.
Anyways, we noticed that Coco and our 7 month old jack did not like the lambs very much so we pend them up seperatley.
Coco would push lambs away with nose and the jack tried to grab them by the neck.
6 lambs had there lambs all seemed to be under control until the next 4 started so we are back to the same drama with donkeys. Who had been let out with them.
We were not at the, property when the insident accured, our friend went by to check on sheep when either Coco or jack bit a new born lambs face
leaving it mangled and didnt get a chance to kill the other one.
The jack is being given away as has no use to us. He cant even be left with cattle. I wanted to keep him as he is so pretty. Coco will be put with lambs again when they get a little bigger.