milk replacer brands

emilypaonia

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
I am new to sheep, but I raise goats and chickens. I am looking forward to having feeder lambs this year and in the future, hopefully 20 ewes or so. My property has a 7 acre orchard and I would like to eventually raise enough sheep on it to keep the grass down.

Anyway, I have my first bum lamb, he sure is little! I am feeding him Land O' Lakes "Ultra Fresh Lamb Milk Replacer." That is what the supply store in my town had. I will probably have to get another bag since I am getting him a friend today, I imagine the two of them will go through more than the 25 lb. bag in the next 6 weeks.

Anyone have any good recommendations for brands? Any "organic" types out on the market? Anyone know anything about the Land O' Lakes that I am currently using. People post on this forum about the Purina brand, maybe I can get that in the next town over if it is better.

Thanks for your help!

aggieterpkatie

The Shepherd
Reaction score
That Land O'Lakes replacer is good. It's an all-milk protein based replacer. I'd stick with it instead of switching.

puredelite

Exploring the pasture
Reaction score
Land-of-Lakes is the only milk replacer that I have used and it seemed to do the trick for my orphans, they grew well on it. Best of success in your bottle-feeding, it is quite a chore!

carolinagirl

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
Just curious...can goat replacement milk be fed to lambs? Our local Tractor Supply keeps it in stock. Might come in handy some day.

jhm47

True BYH Addict
Reaction score
Calves= calf milk replacer for best results
Lambs= lamb milk replacer for best results
Goats= goat milk replacer for best results.
In a desperate situation, you can buy some time by switching, but try to keep your replacers species specific.

carolinagirl

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score