New bull calf questions?? Disbud? vaccine? casterate?

pinellisdreamfarm

Just born
Reaction score
I am new to this calf thing. I have a 4 day old brown swiss bull calf. When do I disbud/dehorn? I have goats and I disbud at 3-7 days old. When do I casterate? I do goat kids at 6-8 weeks old using either banding or surgical. What method should be used for this calf? When and what do I use to vaccinate? I have CD/T that I give my goats but do I use that on my calf? I was told to protect him from clostridium will this vaccine work or do I need another? when do I vaccinate?
I am feeding him 2 1/2 qts is this ok? he seems hungry. They were doing 2 x a day and I want to do 3 x a day so how much each time? We are using nursing formula. But when my goats kid can we use goats milk in 4 weeks? feed same amount? dilute it?

Thanks for any help! Last time I did a calf it was raised on mom.

Cricket

Ridin' The Range
Reaction score
I have my vet disbud--he says 1 inch or less and he does surgical castration at the same time. I only vaccinate for rabies when they're older, but maybe that depends on where you live? I assume you mean that you are feeding 2 1/2 quarts per feeding 2 times a day? I wouldn't go to 3 times and I wouldn't increase--I tried that once on a huge belted something dairy and he ended up with bloat and died. If he's looking good and doesn't have scours, I'd call it good! They ALWAYS act starved! I wouldn't think it would be a problem switching them to goat milk, just do it really gradually. I usually only go through bag of milk replacer and then plan on having them weaned at around 2 months. The steer I have now went through another 1/2 bag, mostly just because he is stubborn and it seemed easier to keep him on milk longer than fight with him! (holstein/jersey cross).

Good luck with him!

WildRoseBeef

Range nerd & bovine enthusiast
Reaction score