Emergency, for new member, need baby goat help

RileyandStormysmom

Just born
Reaction score
Hi, I am going crazy with my goats with worry. I am new to goats. I bought my first one in June of last year. My first birth was three days ago to a goat with the longest pregnancy in goat history1 lol. we bought her thinking she was going to kid in September and she gave birth to a boer mix three days ago . I don't own a buck so the other owners must have had a sneak in their midst.

Now I bought a goat in November and the owners were sure that she would not kid until Feb.2-March 2. Well I came out to give the boer buckling a bottle (mom won't nurse him) and she just gave birth to a kid. It is so small. Could it be a premie? They are Nubians. Are Nubian babies smaller then other a mix with boer kid would be? Well I went in and dried him off (yep another boy) and he seems so small. She looked like she was going to have another one but seemed so nervous with us there that I didn't want to stress her out.

I am going to go check on her but how long should I wait if she has a second one . I thought I had more time. I am so freaking out that something is going to go wrong. I don't know what to do.

My other problem is should I take out the other goats now? Will that stress her out more. I took out Cookie and Cream after the birth and let the baby have alone time with mom for three days. I just introduced the herd again tonight.

Can you tell that I am in a panic over this! I feel like the maid in "Gone With the Wind". Oh she was eating like a cow at three p.m. when I put her up. No mucus, no tail ligaments and then bam baby.

OH she had a big red ball hanging out of her rear end is that cause of concern or normal?

thanks,

RileyandStormysmom

Just born
Reaction score
Okay-Cookie update.