Photography~Wild Birds

Little One

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Welcome to a new thread where we can share our wild bird photographs, talk about tips and share lessons that we've learned, and even ask questions and seek opinions. Whether you have been photographing wild birds for years or became inspired to start after seeing the pictures here, please join in!

I have always loved bird watching and naturally, I wanted to combine it with another of my hobbies, photography! I'm only an amateur, but you've got to start somewhere...and with photography it's practice-practice-practice! It's not a lie when I say that you can come home from a day out shooting with 500 photographs on your memory card, and only a handful of them turned out the way you would like. Don't get frustrated, it happens to all of us. I'll get it started with a few of my favorite bird photos. I know we've got a lot of photographers in this forum, so don't be shy!

Backyard feeders are a good place to start because your subject isn't moving around as much.
IMG0159-M.jpg

Birds in flight are something that I would like to personally improve on.
Green-Heron-3-M.jpg

Red-Winged-Blackbirdmale-M.jpg

snowy-egrets-M.jpg

Action shots will make your picture unique and interesting. I sat there, camera held at the ready, for 15 mins...before he struck. Like I said, patience is important, and it will pay off!
IMG3078-crop-M.jpg

Little One

Chillin' with the herd
Reaction score
Wow! Thanks. :)
I thought of some general tips that apply to photographing birds:
-Ideal times of day to shoot are early morning and late afternoon, when the sun is lower in the sky. You will get less shadows and the lighting will be softer.
-Try to shoot with the sun to your back. You don't want the bird to be a silhouette (unless that is the look you were aiming for) and in dark shadow.

redtailgal

Reaction score
COOl!

What kind of camera do you have? Do you shoot in manual? What kind of lens have you got?