Sore Mouth

A.G.

Just born
Reaction score
Hello everyone,

I am new to owning sheep and I would really appreciate some advice on sore mouth. I purchased a bred ewe and she gave birth to twins at the end of May. Less than 24 hours after giving birth I noticed what looked like a small zit on the mouth of one of the lambs. I called a large animal vet and he said that the babies most likely wouldn't have been able to contract sore mouth that fast. He thought maybe a foxtail and pricked the lamb's mouth and it was just irritated. He wanted me to put idodine on it and see if it helped. It did help, but then the lamb ended up getting more. And then obviously the other lamb got it as well and now they have major scabs all over their face (it looks like sore mouth to me!). But the ewe hasn't had any problems with mastitis and the lambs nurse really well. Is it possible that the ewe was a carrier for this strain of sore mouth and it doesn't affect her?

I also worry about disinfecting everything. I read that you can contract it so I have been very careful about wearing gloves and washing my hands. If it is such a hardy virus that can live in the environment for so long, how do you clean everything? With bleach perhaps? They aren't in an enclosed barn, there is an overhang that they sleep under but then they are just out and about in a fenced-in area for the rest of the day.

And sorry, one more question. What does this mean for any more lambs that I want to have? Since it is in the environment now, does that mean if I have any more lambs that they will contract it too since it can live in the soil for so long?

This newbie would appreciate any help, thank you!

mysunwolf

Herd Master
Reaction score
We have soremouth here as well and got it a similar way, from ewes that were carriers and passed it to all the lambs. The ewes have never shown any signs of sores themselves. We haven't had any serious complications from it yet (that's a big "yet").